Skip to content

The Watchstars Awards Honor the World’s Best Timepieces

Recently during the Baselworld 2017 watch exhibition, The Watchstars Awards were presented. A pinnacle in the watch industry, the international watch awards are given out annually by an international committee of experts. Watchstars honors “the best watches of the world” in five different categories. The judging is based on the previous year’s innovations.

The 2017 awards were given for timepieces unveiled in 2016 – and that are in stores now. We are proud to carry timepieces by one of the winners.

Representatives of the honored brands were presented with beautiful star statues. Here are the winners in the five categories:
Classic Stars: Rolex Perpetual Air King
Technical Stars: Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Concept Supersonnerie
Design Stars: Hermes Slim d’Hermes Grand Feu Enamel
Stars for a Lifetime: Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Extra Thin
New Stars: Bulgari Octo Finissimo Minute Repeater*

* It should be noted that while Bulgari is by no means a “new” star, the brand’s haute horlogerie status of watchmaking has risen greatly over the past decade, becoming a new benchmark in the watch industry.



The Watchstars jury committee consists of the most experienced watch specialists around the world. Only committee members are allowed to nominate and vote for the winning watches: manufacturers are not permitted to submit watches. All watches, regardless of size, brand, or country of origin, are eligible for the Watchstars Awards.

There are nearly 90 jurors on the committee, including some true veteran journalists in the field of watches. Among them are Roberta Naas of online watch magazine, Joe Thompson, Norma Buchanan and Mark Bernardo of WatchTime, freelancer Jason Heaton, Ariel Adams of and Sabine Zwettler, freelancer.

(Visited 1 times)

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *